List of Elected Member and Official:- Elected Member:- 1. Smt. Archana Bordoloi, Chairperson. 2. Shri Ranjit Kumar Deka, Vice-Chairman. 3. Smt. Juli Nirmalia, Ward Commissioner. 4. Smt. Manju Sharma Baruah, Ward Commissioner. 5. Shri Dhaneswar Das, Ward Commissioner. 6. Shri Lohit Kalita, Ward Commissioner. 7. Smt. Madhusmita Gohain Deka, Ward Commissioner. 8. Md. Moimul Sultan, […]

Continue reading



According to the 1991 Census of India, there were 3255 urban local bodies (ULBs) in the country; classified into the four major categories of: Municipal corporation (Nagar Nigam) Municipality (municipal council, municipal board, municipal committee) (Nagar Parishad) Town area committee Notified area committee The municipal corporations and municipalities are fully representative bodies, while the notified […]

Continue reading

Responsibilities of urban local bodies


The municipal bodies of India are vested with a long list of functions delegated to them by the state governments under the municipal legislation. These functions broadly relate to public health, welfare, regulatory functions, public safety, public infrastructure works, and development activities. Public health includes water supply, sewerage and sanitation, eradication of communicable diseases etc.; […]

Continue reading